Jump to contentJump to page navigation: previous page [access key p]/next page [access key n]
Applies to SUSE Enterprise Storage 6

6 Managing Dashboard Users and Roles Edit source

Dashboard user management performed by Ceph commands on the command line was already introduced in Chapter 14, Managing Users and Roles on the Command Line.

This section describes how to manage user accounts by using the Dashboard Web user interface.

6.1 Listing Users Edit source

Click in the utility menu and select User Management.

The list contains each user's user name, full name, e-mail, and list of assigned roles.

User Management
Figure 6.1: User Management

6.2 Adding New Users Edit source

Click Add in the top left of the table heading to add a new user. Enter their user name, password, and optionally a full name and an e-mail.

Adding a User
Figure 6.2: Adding a User

Click the little pen icon to assign predefined roles to the user. Confirm with Create User.

6.3 Editing Users Edit source

Click a user's table row and then select Edit to edit details about the user. Confirm with Update User.

6.4 Deleting Users Edit source

Click a user's table row and then select Delete to delete the user account. Activate the Yes, I am sure check box and confirm with Delete User.

6.5 Listing User Roles Edit source

Click in the utility menu and select User Management. Then click the Roles tab.

The list contains each role's name, description, and whether it is a system role.

User Roles
Figure 6.3: User Roles

6.6 Adding Custom Roles Edit source

Click Add in the top left of the table heading to add a new custom role. Enter its name, description, and set required permissions for individual topics.

Tip
Tip: Purging Custom Roles

If you create custom user roles and intend to remove the Ceph cluster with the ceph.purge runner later on, you need to purge the custom roles first. Find more details in Section 2.17, “Removing an Entire Ceph Cluster”.

Adding a Role
Figure 6.4: Adding a Role
Tip
Tip: Multiple Activation

By activating the check box that precedes the topic name, you activate all permissions for that topic. By activating the All check box, you activate all permissions for all the topics.

Confirm with Create Role.

6.7 Editing Custom Roles Edit source

Click a custom role's table row and then select Edit in the top left of the table heading to edit a description and permissions of the custom role. Confirm with Update Role.

6.8 Deleting Custom Roles Edit source

Click a role's table row and then select Delete to delete the role. Activate the Yes, I am sure check box and confirm with Delete Role.

Print this page